47 Minutes

I watched the raw footage of the 7.10 atrocities Hamas committed in Israel; Here’s what I saw

Elad Simchayoff
3 min readNov 5, 2023
Video captured during Hamas invasion of Israel, 7.10

47 Minutes

I don’t know how many of you are aware of ‘the video’; I can assure you that if you say “47 minutes” to any Israeli today, they’ll know exactly what you’re referring to.

After 7.10, the IDF collected countless hours of real-time footage of the atrocities taken by Hamas terrorists, victims, and security cameras. They compiled the footage into a 47-minute video, showing some of the most horrific moments from the attacks.

What is shown there only amounts to 10% of those murdered on that day. The video is being shown to journalists and diplomats worldwide. Some left mid-film due to its hard content, many were crying, and some reported feeling sick or experiencing nightmares. Members of the Israeli Knesset have seen it, and many were later seen sobbing.

I watched it last week, along with 30 fellow UK journalists.

I want to share my experience.

The Banality of Evil

We arrived at the Israeli embassy for the ‘screening’. Our phones were taken and we were requested not to detail specific scenes out of respect for the victims and their families. What struck me most was what Hannah Arendt…

--

--

Elad Simchayoff

I love writing about what I love. Israeli/British. Father, husband, dog person. Support me by joining Medium via this link: https://eladsi.medium.com/membership